CAN: The Lies Against Christian Association of Nigeria, one of the Liar, and the Truth.

My friend Abdulrahman Abu Hamisu has told me severally how Sar’duana helped Christians to register Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN). He would say Sar’duana was a tolerant man who tried to foster relationship between Christians and Muslims. Sar’duana was killed in 1966 by Major Nzeogwu group in a military coup. Christian Association of Nigeria came into existence in 1976, ten years after the demise of Sar’duana. So, it is clear that the story of Sar’duna helping Christians to register CAN is not true. I don’t know how this story came about, but there is a man who calls himself Professor Dauda Ojobi who has been lying to Muslims in Mosques over the years, claiming to be a Sheikh. This story looks like one of Professor Ojobi’s concotted lies.

On Friday, 10th October, 2014, I posted “Who is this Professor Dauda Ojobi, the Islamic Scholar they talk about?” on Facebook. Few minutes later I got calls and letters in my inbox that Professor Ojobi would be in town at the Al-nur Mosque, Ibrahim Babangida way, Abuja, to give a lecture. A friend on Facebook, Musa Azare, facilitated my brief meeting with Professor Dauda Ojobi. The internet that period was agog with the story of a Benue Christian that converted to Muslim and was exposing CAN.

My brother Al-Amin Isa facilitated the meeting between me and Professor Ojobi. He thought Professor Ojobi was an Idoma man. It was Al-Amin Isa and Musa Azare (Chairman of Katagum Local Government, Bauchi) who made it possible for me to see this Ojobi fella in 2014 in Al-Nur Mosque, Wuse 2, where he came to preach. Not actually preach, but he came to tell lies and spew hate against Christians. That is how he survives. He figured that Muslims and Muslim leaders in Arewa love that type of tales and whether they know it is a lie, they love to swallow it.

First, I recall Musa Azare introduced me to the Secretary of the Mosque. He was a very nice amiable gentleman. He was happy to see me and I was treated very warmly. I had just started New Issues Magazine and I needed a story. This is the article I published in NEWISSUES below in 2012. I am publishing this artice because of SK Hasiya who made reference to Ojobi in my previous post.

By George Onmonya Daniel

.

Leave a comment